Makin’ Whoopie

In July, I took a trip to Portland, Maine with my mum. One of my goals while I was there was to find my favorite whoopie pie. Being from the midwest, whoopies are something I was unfamiliar with until I moved east. They’re decidedly a northeastern phenomenon and the Mainers are particularly serious about them. Since they’re essentially inside-out cupcakes, and totally adorable, I was won over quickly. Over the 5 days I was in Maine, I tried bunches of different whoopies of all different sizes and flavors. The one from Two Fat Cats (below, left) was fabulous, but my ultimate favorite was the little whoopie from Cranberry Island Kitchens (below, right).

The Cranberry Island Kitchen’s whoopie pies were dense and chocolatey with an intensely creamy vanilla-y filling. My mum and I tried to figure out the filling, which we thought was probably just a really badass butter cream. As it turns out, it is a buttercream….with marshmallow fluff whipped in. Dude, I can’t even remember the last time I had fluff-this was obviously going to happen. I found the actual recipe for the Cranberry Island Kitchen Whoopie on MarthaStewart.com (god bless you Martha).

Most whoopie pie recipes don’t call for any special equipment; they just require you to dollop the batter onto parchment and pop ’em in the oven. Much to my chagrin, this recipe called for a muffin top pan. What? Those exist? Since a muffin top pan seemed so specialized, and my New York kitchen just doesn’t have the space for every single-use kitchen gadget I may covet, I decided to use a madeleine pan. This, I reasoned, would have multiple uses (well, at least two) and seemed much less frivolous…until I saw the price. Muffin top pan it was! I also tried a couple other methods: on a cookie sheet lined with parchment (standard method) and using the bottom of a large muffin tin. The cookie sheet method was a big fat FAIL; this batter is just too runny and I ended up with (delicious) chocolate pancakes. The big muffin tin, on the other hand, totally works-just be sure to cut way back on the amount of batter or your whoopies will be extremely tall.

Final verdict: This recipe is a winner. The cakes are incredibly tender and the icing fluffy and smooth. Yes, these are sweet…there’s fluff in them, so they should be…but I find the filling is balanced well by the not too sweet, super-chocolatey cake. Icing anything in my hot apartment is always an adventure (read: impossible) and since these cakes are so tender and the icing is butter-based, I had a few casualties. See the tips below so that this doesn’t happen to you; you’ll want every last whoopie intact.

Classic Whoopie Pies

Recipe from Cranberry Island Whoopie Pies via Marthastewart.com

A few tips: 1) These cakes are RIDIC. tender, so make sure you’ve let them bake for the full time and have let them cool completely before filling-otherwise you’re risking disintegration. 2)The filling is butter-based, so if it’s hot in your kitchen, as it is in mine, don’t be afraid to chill it before filling the pies. 3) After you top the bottom cake with filling, I would suggest popping it in the fridge for a mo’ in order to let the filling set and avoid over-squishing (technical term) when you add the top cake.

For the Cakes:

1/2 c. (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened (I used salted, it was cool)
2 c. granulated sugar
1/2 t. salt
2 large eggs
1 1/2 t. pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 t. baking soda
1 c. buttermilk
1 3/4 c. all-purpose flour
3/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder
3/4 c. boiling water

  • Set oven to 350° F and butter two 4-inch muffin top pans or large muffin tins. Line each muffin cup with parchment paper and then butter the parchment
  • Cream the butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer until fluffy
  • Add salt, eggs, and vanilla to the creamed butter and sugar, and beat until just integrated
  • In another bowl, mix together the buttermilk and baking soda
  • Alternate adding the flour and the buttermilk to the mixer on medium speed; start and end with the flour
  • Whisk the cocoa powder and boiling water together in a medium bowl until smooth. This will look delicious and taste terrible- I knew this and yet I tried, sigh
  • Add the chocolate to the batter and mix until just combined
  • If using the muffin top pan, fill each muffin cup with a heaping 1/4 cup batter. If using a large muffin tin, reduce this by about half
  • Bake 15-20 minutes, rotating half way through if your oven bakes unevenly
  • Let cool completely
  • Place a heaping 1/4 cup filling (see recipe below) on the bottom side of half of the muffin tops.
  • If it seems a bit warm in your place, refrigerate for a few minutes
  • Top each with a second muffin top

For the vanilla filling

1 c. (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
2 c. sifted confectioners’ sugar (sift, then measure!)
1 jar (7 1/2 ounces) marshmallow Fluff
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

  • With an electric mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until fluffy, about 3 minutes
  • Add the marshmallow fluff and vanilla; mix until incorporated

**These are best straight out of the fridge. Store them between parchment or wrapped in plastic wrap to prevent sticking**

37 thoughts on “Makin’ Whoopie

  1. Pingback: Madeleines with Lemon Glaze « Offally Tasty

  2. You can certainly see your enthusiasm in the article you
    write. The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how
    they believe. Always go after your heart.

  3. After going over a number of the blog articles on your site,
    I honestly appreciate your technique of blogging.
    I book marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will
    be checking back in the near future. Take a look at my web site as
    well and tell me what you think.

  4. Hi there all, here every person is sharing these know-how, therefore it’s fastidious to read
    this blog, and I used to go to see this web site every day.

  5. Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for
    some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good
    gains. If you know of any please share. Appreciate it!

  6. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well
    written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will definitely comeback.

  7. I do not even understand how I stopped up here, but
    I believed this post used to be good. I do not
    understand who you’re but definitely you are going to a famous blogger for those who aren’t
    already. Cheers!

  8. hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up
    something new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this website,
    as I experienced to reload the website many times previous to I could get
    it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?

    Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes
    affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if ads
    and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for a lot more
    of your respective interesting content. Make sure you update this again very
    soon.

  9. I got this website from my pal who shared with me on the topic of this site and
    at the moment this time I am visiting this web site and reading very informative articles or reviews here.

  10. Hi this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to know
    if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted to
    get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be
    enormously appreciated!

  11. I think this is among the most significant info for me. And i’m glad reading your article.
    But want to remark on some general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really nice :
    D. Good job, cheers

  12. Hi there! Quick question that’s completely off topic.

    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when browsing from
    my iphone4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able
    to correct this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    With thanks!

  13. Everything is very open with a really clear description of the issues.
    It was definitely informative. Your website is
    very helpful. Many thanks for sharing!

  14. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff
    previous to and you’re just extremely excellent.
    I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are saying
    and the way in which you say it. You make it
    enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read much more from you.
    This is actually a tremendous website.

  15. Hi my loved one! I wish to say that this post is amazing, great written and include approximately all
    vital infos. I would like to look more posts like this .

  16. Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave
    it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the
    shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside
    and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!
    LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  17. Hi there! I know this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does building a well-established website like yours require a massive amount work?
    I am brand new to blogging but I do write in my journal everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share
    my personal experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you
    have any kind of ideas or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
    Thankyou!

  18. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is
    added I get three emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?

    Bless you!

  19. It’s remarkable to pay a visit this web page and reading the views of all friends
    regarding this paragraph, while I am also zealous of getting know-how.

Leave a Reply

