Farro Salad with Buttermilk Dressing

I bring my lunch to work almost every day. I try to keep my lunches light; you know, to avoid the 2PM face-in-the-keyboard syndrome. My favorite lunches to have around for the week are grain salads. They can be made ahead of time, I generally make a big batch on Sunday nights, and they keep well, so I can eat them throughout the week. They’re great for you, with tons of fiber and vitamins, depending on your veggie choices…and all the calories you save can be put towards left-over whoopie pies. But the best part is that they’re freakin’ delicious! Plump, chewy, nutty grains, fresh veggies and of course, cheese, because it makes everything better. Always.

Farro, thinly sliced radishes, zucchini and fennel tossed with a buttermilk herb dressing and topped with a sprinkle of salty, tangy feta. Nothing but goodness in a bowl. Plus, this recipe makes extra dressing, which, I promise, you’ll be happy about. The original recipe called for the veggies to be thinly sliced on a mandoline. Since the USPS is currently holding the mandoline my mum just sent me hostage, I used the slicing blade on my food processor-I suggest you do too, it saves a lot of time. I also switched up the herbs from the original version and added feta, my go-to crumbled cheese of choice. The only other tweak I made was to add a bit of sugar the to the dressing. I, personally, find that most vinaigrettes need a little bit of sweetness to counterbalance the puckeriness (shhh, totally a word).

I was pretty excited about trying farro. I eat a lot (a LOT) of barley and I love  it, and I imagined farro would be similar. As it turns out, the ancient grain seems to be endangered in my part of queens, but after 5 different grocery stores and one inter-borough trip, I found the little buggers. And they were just. like. barley. Don’t get me wrong, they were delicious, but will I go to the trouble of hunting down the overpriced barley-wannabes anytime soon? I don’t think so. Will I make this salad again soon? Absolutely. With barley.

Farro Salad with Buttermilk Dressing

Adapted from 101Cookbooks

You could add anything to this salad . I think it would be great with sliced cucumbers and red onions or hardboiled eggs….maybe some toasted walnuts. If you have it throw it in. You can also use whatever herbs you want, but the dill is really nice…Try not to overcook your grains….like I did. Can you tell? 🙂

2 cloves garlic, grated on a microplane
1 t salt
1 c. buttermilk
1/2 c. white wine vinegar
1/2 c. olive oil
1/4 c. chopped dill
1/4 c. chopped basil
1/4 c. chopped scallions
pinch of sugar

8ish small radishes, sliced
2 medium zucchini, sliced
1 medium head of fennel, sliced

4 cups cooked farro or barley, cooled
4 oz crumbled feta cheese

  • Add the grated garlic and salt to the buttermilk and let stand a couple of minutes.
  • Whisk in the vinegar, olive oil, herbs, and a pinch of sugar. set aside
  • Mix the sliced veggies with the cooled farro and coat with ~1 c. of the dressing
  • Top with the feta cheese
38 thoughts on “Farro Salad with Buttermilk Dressing

  1. I have never tried barley in a salad…I think I will now and skip the Farro perhaps. The buttermilk dressing sounds delicious and I am jealous that you have that for lunch and I have a 1/2 a ham sandwich. I think I need to get more creative perhaps. Ya think?! ;P

  2. Pingback: Mediterranean Barley Salad « Offally Tasty

  3. Hey I am so delighted I found your web site, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless I am here
    now and would just like to say kudos for a remarkable post and a all round enjoyable blog
    (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at
    the minute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do
    keep up the excellent work.

  4. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author
    for your site. You have some really good posts and I believe I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely
    love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a
    link back to mine. Please shoot me an e-mail if interested.
    Thanks!

  5. Thank you for another informative blog. The place else may I get that kind of info written in such an ideal method?
    I have a mission that I’m just now operating on, and I
    have been on the look out for such info.

  6. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your
    useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  7. Hey! I know this is kind of off topic but I
    was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble
    finding one? Thanks a lot!

  8. Greate article. Keep posting such kind of
    information on your page. Im really impressed by your site.

    Hi there, You have done a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and in my view recommend to my friends.
    I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  9. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without
    a doubt donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now
    i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your
    RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new
    updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

  10. When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify
    me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I receive four emails with the exact same comment.
    Perhaps there is an easy method you are able to remove me from that service?
    Cheers!

  11. Amazing blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring
    writers? I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m
    a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are
    so many options out there that I’m completely
    confused .. Any suggestions? Kudos!

  12. Outstanding post however , I was wondering if you could
    write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate
    a little bit more. Bless you!

  13. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was
    extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any tips for newbie blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

  14. We stumbled over here by a different web page and thought
    I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to checking out your web page again.

  15. This design is wicked! You definitely know how to keep a reader
    amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.

    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.

    Too cool!

  16. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post.
    Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

  17. Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and
    I was wanting to know your situation; we have created some nice practices and
    we are looking to swap strategies with others, please shoot
    me an email if interested.

  18. Hello there I am so grateful I found your weblog, I really found you by error, while I was browsing
    on Bing for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a marvelous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all
    at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the
    great work.

  19. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets
    I could add to my blog that automatically tweet
    my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  20. Hi there very nice web site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb ..
    I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also?
    I’m satisfied to seek out so many useful info here in the submit,
    we’d like develop more techniques in this regard,
    thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  21. I blog frequently and I genuinely appreciate your
    content. This article has really peaked my interest.
    I’m going to take a note of your blog and keep checking
    for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

  22. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this kind of area .
    Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this
    website. Studying this info So i am glad to express that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed.
    I most definitely will make certain to do not disregard this website and give it a glance on a relentless
    basis.

  23. Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with
    hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  24. Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of
    volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a
    extraordinary job!

Leave a Reply

