Banana Bran Muffins

I heart muffins; I really, really, do. They’re like little, personal-sized, happiness-inducing breakfast cakes. Even their name is cute…say it with me…muffin. What’s so great about these little guys is that there really is a muffin for every mood. Chocolate craving? Check. Want fruit? Check. Extreme hankering for poppyseeds? Sure. How about something not too sweet and fiberlicious for breakfast? Check out these babies.

These muffins are based on a recipe from Ina Garten. Honestly, I’m kind of obsessed with her cooking; I can’t figure out why her recipes are always so. damn. good. This recipe is no exception; it combines ripe bananas, walnuts, bran, and raisins in a buttermilk batter. The resulting muffins are moist and super flavorful thanks to a healthy dose of molasses. And, bonus!, they’re pretty good for you! One of my favorite tricks is to replace half the fat in a recipe with applesauce. If I’m baking for myself and not intending to share (sometimes I’m greedy), I almost always do this. Because, you know, I can’t let my love of baked goods go to my butt. Rest assured though, that if you’ve received a baked good from me, it’ll be full-on fatty goodness-because I love you. These muffins, however, only have 4 T. of butter in the entire batch; no substitutions necessary! wheee!

Yes, that muffin pan is gnarly. We’ll just call it well-loved, aight? Yes, I overfilled the cups because I didn’t want to dirty more than one pan. It’s all good…lazy totally works on a Sunday afternoon. Yes, it’s possible I forgot to chop the walnuts. So what if these guys are bit more chunky then Ina intended, I’m not complaining. I have delicious snacks for the week.

Banana Bran Muffins

Adapted from Ina Garten

The original recipe calls for orange zest; I left it out just because I didn’t have any, but I think it would be a great addition. I also subbed golden raisins for regular and upped the amount of banana. I usually freeze half of the muffins, since I’m only one person; I’m not sure how these will freeze, but if there’s a problem, I’ll report back.

1 c. unprocessed wheat bran
1 c. buttermilk (shaken)
4 T unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/4 c. light brown sugar, lightly packed
2 large eggs
6 tablespoons molasses
1/2 t. pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
3/4 t. baking powder
1/4 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt
1 c. golden raisins
2 large-diced über-ripe bananas
1/2 c. chopped walnuts

  • Preheat the oven to 350° F and grease a regular-sized muffin tin
  • In a small bowl,  add the buttermilk to the bran and let sit
  • In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar until fluffy
  • Beat in eggs, one at a time
  • Add molasses and vanilla and beat until incorporated (the batter will look like a curdled mess)
  • Mix in the bran/buttermilk
  • In another small bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix just until incorporated
  • Fold in the bananas, nuts and raisins
  • Divide the batter evenly between the muffin cups; bake 25-30 min
4 thoughts on “Banana Bran Muffins

  1. I accidentally laughed out loud (at work..sh!) because I LOVE that you don’t want your baked goods to go to your butt, but you don’t mind if they go to MINE when you make them for me. I know that is figuratively since we don’t actually know each other. I love Ina too and her recipes have NEVER let me down. Yummy looking muffins!

  2. Wonderful pictures.. i especially love your narrative… say it with me now… muffin. lol.
    P.S the reason why you love Ina Garten so much is because every single one of her recipes includes at least 3 sticks of butter and 2 cups of heavy cream. What’s not to love? Keep up the good work!

    • Thanks All!

      Justin- True enough about Ina. But her recipes are also unbreakable enough that you can usually cut back on the fat and still end up with something delicious. Then again, why would you want to.

Leave a Reply

