Seared radishes with anchovy butter

Truth be told, I don’t like radishes very much. It’s not that I DISlike them (you’d be hard pressed to find anything that falls into that list), it’s just that they aren’t my favorites….and I wouldn’t choose to have them around, generally speaking. They’re totally cute and their spicy crunch definitely has it’s place, but faced with an overabundance of them, I needed something new to do other that eat them in salads. Apparently you can cook them. I had no idea. You learn something every day.

You can sear them in a hot pan with a little olive oil, and when you do, they sweeten to resemble turnips and their bright red coats also soften to pretty in pink. And then, if you want, you can sauté some chopped anchovies and garlic and red pepper flakes in butter, creating a salty, nutty, delicious sauce which doesn’t taste at all like fishies, so don’t be scared. Go heavy on the garlic, and the anchovies; you won’t regret it. And then grab a fork.

I was so pleased with the little root vegetables that I am absolutely adding them to my “to roast” list. I mean, roasting season is almost here…or so I hope, the repressive 95 degree days seem to stubbornly arguing otherwise. Roasting makes everything taste better so I can only imagine how wonderful these little pretties will be after a bit of high-heat caramelization. I’m willing the cooler air in so that I can use my kitchen as it wants to be used. Until then, I suppose I can make due with stove-top only cooking, at least for a day or two longer…

Seared Radishes with Anchovy Butter

Based on a recipe from the NYTimes

The original recipe uses these as a crostini topping, which would be an excellent use for them. I just ate them with a fork, but I can imagine they would be a great side for some sort of protein. I would recommend bring some sort of juice-sopper into the equation though, because you won’t want to waste a lick of the anchovy butter. The only real change I made was to cut waywaywaywaywayway back on the butter and oil; really, it’s not needed. I also think these could do with a hit of acid- maybe a tiny squirt of lemon next time.

1 bunch radishes
2 T. olive oil
1/2 t. salt
1/4 t. pepper
2 T butter
8 anchovy fillets, finely chopped
4 large garlic cloves, finely chopped
Pinch red pepper flakes

  • Trim the radishes and cut lengthwise into quarters (or sixths, if they’re bigun’s)
  • Heat a skillet over medium-high heat until quite hot. Add 1 T. oil, radishes in a single layer, salt and pepper.
  • Cook radishes, stirring occasionally, until they are lightly colored and tender 6-10 min.
  • In another small skillet over medium heat, melt butter. Add anchovies, garlic, red pepper and remaining oil. Turn heat to low and simmer until nutty and delicious smelling (about 5 minutes)
  • Pour sauce over radishes and enjoy
3 thoughts on “Seared radishes with anchovy butter

Leave a Reply

