I dip, you dip, we dip!

It’s officially holiday season and that means that along with brisk air and orange leaves, comes the endless torrent of holiday parties. Chances are you’re going to be called upon to bring something delicious to at least one one of the upcoming shindigs. Sure, dips are so…boring?….expected?….lame? Yeah, most dips are all of the above, but I promise you, NO one will complain when you show up with one of these.

The first one is creamy and decadent to the extreme. Honestly, there is nothing more delicious than deeply caramelized onions; I’m fairly sure I’ve waxed poetic about them before. Onions caramelized to gorgeous. In butter. Onions love butter and butter loves onions-it’s a mutual, torrid love affair, really. Throw in a little cream cheese and mayo for creaminess, sour cream for tang, and cayenne for punch and you have yourself a winner. A winner than can be eaten with anything- pita chips, tortilla chips, bread, crudité….your fingers….

Too rich for your blood? Well that’s just crazy nonsense, and may mean that we have to break up, but fine, be that way. Try this one instead. I first located and made this Greek Goddess dip last superbowl, and let me tell you, it. is. awesome. I spread it on every sandwich I made for the following week until every last drop was gone. I have to admit that I am crazy biased towards feta-it’s my cheese of choice and goes on almost everything-but I don’t think that means that anyone will like this any less than I. The yogurt base, heavy hit of herbs, and bright sour addition of lemon juice meld together into a light, fresh A-MAZ-ING dip. Best part? With the help of a blender, this one comes together in about 3 minutes.

So there you go! Dips for whatever your mood, be it a little naughty and rich or light and verdant-take your pick! Or do what I did last week and make both. Because why choose? It’s the Holidays, right?

Caramelized Onion Dip

From my Mum. If anyone happens to know where this recipe originally came from, please let me know! Otherwise, mum gets all the credit. You can make this dip ahead of time. In fact, I would suggest the night (or two) before so that the flavors can meld. Take your time with the onions, it takes a few minutes, but they’re completely worth the time. Also, I’ll be honest, I use reduced-fat almost everything in this dip (1/3 less fat cream cheese, reduced fat sour cream, reduced fat mayo)…of course it’s even better with full-on fat, but you know, it makes me feel less guilty. Under no circumstances though, should you use non-fat ANYTHING in this dip. Don’t ruin it. Please.

2 large onions, sliced very thinly (1/8″)
4 T. unsalted butter
2 T. olive oil
1/4 t. cayenne
1 t. salt
1/2 t. black pepper
4 oz cream cheese
1/2 c. sour cream
1/2 c. mayonnaise

  • Heat the butter and oil over medium heat
  • Sauté the onion, cayenne, salt, and pepper for 10 min. Reduce heat to medium-low and cook, stirring occasionally for 20 more minutes, until onions are gorgeously brown. Cool
  • In a medium bowl, beat cream cheese, sour cream and mayo until smooth
  • Add onions and adjust salt and pepper to taste

 

Greek Goddess Dip

Recipe taken directly from the NY Times.

Um, hi, delicious. Use a creamy feta. That is all.

1/2 c. packed fresh dill
1/2 c. packed fresh mint
1/2 c. packed fresh parsley
1/3 c. packed fresh basil
2 garlic cloves, chopped
2 scallions, white and green parts, sliced
1 1/2 T lemon juice (or more to taste- I probably used twice this)
Pinch of salt
1/4 c. olive oil
4 oz. feta cheese
1/2 c. Greek yogurt (I use 0%)
1/4 c. mayonnaise, optional (toooootally unnecessary, IMO :))

  • In a food processor, pulse first 8 ingredients until finely chopped
  • While the food processor runs, drizzle in olive oil
  • Add feta and run processor until smooth, then add the yogurt and the mayo (if you’re using it)
  • Taste and add salt and/or more lemon juice to taste


2 thoughts on “I dip, you dip, we dip!

Leave a Reply

