Roasted Broccoli and Shrimp

Thanksgiving really did a number on me. Not only would “overindulge” be a massive, massive understatement, but I actually had to throw away the leftovers to make myself stop eating for the remainder of the weekend. Did you hear me? I THREW AWAY THANKSGIVING LEFTOVERS. That has to be the worst kind of blasphemy. I kind of hate myself a little bit for it; but there was no other way people! I think I’ve already covered my complete and utter lack of will-power around good food; so you can imagine the problem with the heavenly mashed potato-apple sausage stuffing-cranberry sauce Thanksgiving mash-up. Ugh. You understand; I imagine a few of you probably feel the same way. So this, needless to say, is detox week.

I love me some cruciferous vegetables. Yes, offal and tartare make me swoon, but I am also one of the strange ones that can easily down a roasted head of broccoli or cauliflower (and only a roasted head of broccoli or cauliflower) for dinner…or sometimes breakfast. Hey, your body knows what it wants-you need to listen to those cravings! If my body wants a head of cauliflower at breakfast, who am I to refuse it? There’s probably a good reason, right? Anyways, I find them delicious, particularly when roasted until brown and crispy. And they have this added benefit of being really, really, ridiculously good for you (in my head, I said that like Zoolander).

Then there are shrimp with their lean protein and shockingly low fat and calorie content. Not to mention that they’re absolutely scrumptious! They can be cheap too; just buy the guys with shells and take a few extra minutes to peel them. It’s annoying, yes, but it just takes a minute! [A friend of mine suggested this new tactic towards everyday life: if it only takes a minute, do it. Rinse that bowl, move those shoes to the closet, take the garbage out. It really does make you more productive with no added effort. Brilliant!] You can sauté them, boil them, steam them or bake them; they’re versatile little suckers. And did I mention delicious?

This is one of my go-to, after work healthy (HANGRY!) meals. I first found it on the Wednesday Chef a couple years ago and make it fairly regularly. If you’ve not checked out her blog yet, you should get over there fast, because this lady knows how to choose those recipes. This is as simple as recipes come and yet, results in something sensational. Just toss some broccoli trees with coriander, cumin, chili powder and olive oil; toss some shrimp with lemon zest and olive oil; roast the broccoli ’til beginning to brown, then add the shrimp. The whole process from peeling those fishy badboys to stuffing your face takes 30 minutes, MAX. I’ll eat them straight like this, but if you’re craving a little something more, boil up some whole wheat couscous while the rest roasts. You’re left with an amazingly easy, super fast, heart healthy meal. Chase it down with some raspberry kefir for dessert and, damn girl, you’re almost back on track! You know, until the Christmas parties start…

Roasted Broccoli and Shrimp

Taken pretty directly from The Wednesday Chef, who seems to have taken it directly from Melissa Clark. Serves 2-4.

Cut/tear the broccoli pretty small- they’re awesome when they get crispy and caramelized. You can substitute ground coriander and cumin, but cut back a little bit on the amount. Mmmmm shrimp.

2 lb broccoli, cut into little trees
4 T. olive oil
1 t. whole coriander seeds
1 t. whole cumin seeds
1 1/2 t. salt
1 t. ground black pepper
1/8 t. hot chili powder (I think red pepper flakes would be good here)
1 lb large shrimp, shelled
1 1/4 t. lemon zest (from 1 large lemon)
Lemon juice for serving

  • Heat oven to 425ºF. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper
  • Toss the broccoli with 2 T. oil, coriander, cumin, 1 t. salt, .5 t. pepper and chili powder
  • In another bowl, toss the shrimp with remaining oil, zest, and remaining salt and pepper
  • Spread broccoli on cookie sheet and roast for 10 min.
  • Add the shrimp to the pan and continue to roast for 5-10 min or until the broccoli is cooked and crispy on the edges and  the shrimp is pink
  • Spritz with lemon juice and serve


One thought on “Roasted Broccoli and Shrimp

Leave a Reply

