Triple Chocolate Cherry Oatmeal Cookies

I’m gonna make this one pretty quick, because I honestly can’t think of much more to say past “yum.”  I spent this Sunday afternoon baking and cooking and basically getting my life back in order. I love a Sunday at home, particularly a Sunday with a newly-decorated Christmas tree and Christmas music and roasting squash and homemade soup and cookies and pink-painted nails*. It was a good Sunday. I made two batches of cookies, actually. The first was a total bust, which I will tell you about some other time. The second was this tart, sweet, chewy, oat-y batch, which I will tell you about right now 🙂

I had left-over dried cherries from Thanksgiving and sometime last week I decided that chocolate-cherry-oatmeal cookies were in order. The recipe I landed on at epicurious originally called for cranberries; I figured cherries were close enough, with the same sweet tartness and ruby color. I was way right.

These cookies are delicious. How could they not be with the generous amount of semi-sweet, dark, and white chocolate. They’re crunchy on the edges and ever so slightly chewy in the center. And the rich sweetness of the chocolate is nicely cut by the pungent dried cherries.

Reviews on epicurious warned that these are extremely sweet; perhaps too sweet for some palates. To those reviewers I have to say: did you look at the recipe first? These are not an earnest batch of oatmeal cookies. They are not for the oat-lovers amongst us. If that’s what you’re going for, I have some other recipes you may want. These cookies are for the chocolate lovers out there and with their overload of add-ins, you won’t be thinking about the oats. And I promise you won’t be missing them either.

*Did anyone notice that my blog is snowing? 🙂

Triple Chocolate Cherry Oatmeal Cookies

Adapted from Bon Appétit. Makes 2 dozen.

As I’m not a huge fan or milk or white chocolate, I substituted dark for the milk and cut back on the white by half. The recipe below reflects these changes. If you go ahead and do the drizzle, these are totally pretty and festive on top being delicious.

1 c. all purpose flour
1/2 t. baking soda
1/2 t. cinnamon
1/4 t. salt
10 T. unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar, packed
1 large egg
1 t. vanilla extract
1 c. old-fashioned oats (I used quick-cooking)
1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 c. dark chocolate, chips or chopped
1/4 c. white chocolate chips
1/2 c. dried cherries
2 oz milk chocolate or white chocolate, chopped (for drizzling)

  • Heat oven to 350°F and line two large cookie sheets with parchment
  • In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt
  • In the bowl of a mixer, cream the butter with both sugars, until fluffy
  • Add the egg and vanilla and beat until thoroughly combined
  • Add the flour mixture and the oats and beat until just combined
  • by hand, mix in the chocolate and the cherries
  • Drop by spoonfuls onto the prepared cookie sheets. My drops were about 1.5-2 T each
  • Bake for 12-15 minutes or until edges are lightly browned, but cookies are still soft in center
  • Let cool completely on pan
  • Melt drizzling chocolate and drizzle the cookies however you please. I just added my chocolate to a ziplock bag and placed it on the hot oven. When the chocolate was melted I snipped the corner of the bag and used it as a piping bag. Easy peasy
2 thoughts on “Triple Chocolate Cherry Oatmeal Cookies

  1. I think I like the substitution of cherries. They look decadent and I want to try these. And it is snowing on your blog. Thought it was my eyes at first.

  2. I tried this recipe w/ Cranberries, for the same reason that you used cherries, which was that I had some lying around and didn’t want to go trudging thru the snow to get cherries, so.. . The result was deliciously fabulous and once again, Cal, you saved me from showing up to a gathering empty-handed! Thanks for the great recipe, will try again w/ cherries someday = ).

Leave a Reply

