Guilt-free Banana Oat Bread

I love, love, love bananas. I’m not much of a fruit girl, really. Oh, I love berries when they’re in season-raspberries and strawberries and cherries-but that time is fleeting. If you put an apple or an orange in front of me, I’ll eat it, and I’ll even like it… assuming it’s not a macintosh, that is. But I would never go out of my way for an apple or an orange or a pear or a grape for that matter. Bananas though, bananas are my boo.

I like my bananas pristine and yellow, with just the littlest bit of green on the top. Those blemished, sugary, spotted bananas are for someone else. Or, for baking. In fact, blemished, sugary, spotted bananas are the only ones you should use for baking. They should be more black than you’re comfortable with….they should make you a little squeamish. If they seem to be spontaneously separating from the stem when you pick them up, they are ready.

My grandmother’s banana bread is the shizzle. It’s simple and delicious and perfect in every way. This version, however, is pretty darn good too. Like most baked goods I like, it’s dense and moist and a tad chewy. It has oatmeal in it, which is almost always a ringer for me. Love me some oats. Best part? It’s almost entirely fat free. No joke. Delicious and fat free…it totally satiaties your craving for baked goods, sans guilt. Perf!

This recipe comes from Joy the Baker; the girl is just never wrong. We all need more guilt-free baked goods in our lives right? We also all need a way to dispatch with those over-ripe bananas we sometimes have on our hands. I would highly recommend this one. A girl has to get her fruit somehow.

Guilt-free Banana Oatmeal Bread

Taken directly from Joy the Baker.

1 1/4 c all-purpose flour
1/2 c packed brown sugar
1/2 t  salt
1/2 t baking soda
1/4 t baking powder
1/2 t cinnamon
1 c uncooked old fashioned oats
1 T canola or oil
1 lg egg, beaten
2 egg whites, beaten
3 lg, very very ripe bananas

  • Heat oven to 350°F. Grease a loaf pan
  • In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients
  • In a small bowl, mash the bananas (I use a potato masher, but you can just use a fork). Add the oil and whole ege and combine well
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix
  • In another bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff. Fold them into the batter in 3 additions
  • Pour the batter into the loaf pan and bake for 45-50 minutes or until a tester comes out almost clean

Easy peasy

 

2 thoughts on “Guilt-free Banana Oat Bread

  1. Your photos get better and better. Are you taking them with your phone? Because , if you are, that is pretty amazing. Recipes since the New Year, except for a couple of CRAZY cakes, have been healthy and sound delicious. But no pear recipes? PS Do you need a camera? Not apparently, from the the to buy looks of your photos. But I LOVE to buy tech gifts…

    • I know! I ate the pears! I meant to cook with them, but they were there and I was trying to fix my no-fruit problem…Anyways, thank you and yes, I use my phone. You have no idea how many pics I have to take to get the good ones though…so I mean, I would never say no to a camera 😉

Leave a Reply

