Asparagus and Gruyere Tart


Dare I say it? I think spring is finally here. It was a long, rough one, this year. Too much cold, too much wind and far far too much snow. This spring has been so chilly, I think some of us had given up on it ever really arriving. But the last three sunny, 70-degree days seem to suggest that we have finally made it to the other side.

Along with the warmer weather and the budding trees and the allergies, comes the spring produce. As an omnivore in every sense of the word, I’m excited for all of it. But I think the tender spring asparagus, no bigger than a pencil, may be my favorite. Or at least today it is, tomorrow I may claim rhubarb as my favorite; I’m fickle like that. So for today at least:  Oh, asparagus season, how I heart you.

The best thing about seasonal produce is how little you have to do to it to make it sing. Usually, the less you do the better. In that vein, this is more of an assembly process than a recipe, using only 4 ingredients and allowing all the attention to go, rightly so, to the asparagus.

I feel a little funny posting “recipes” like this since, as you’ll see, there’s not much to it. But honestly, this is a perfect spring appetizer. It takes no more than 5 minutes to assemble, can be served warm or at room temp and is just perfect simplicity. It’s a great ode to spring. I’m finally convinced that it’s here to stay, but I think I’ll be vigorously knocking on wood for the rest of the night…just in case.

Asparagus and Gruyere Tart

Adapted from Canadian Living. Serves 8.

If you’re planning on being an animal and eating this sans knife and fork, like I did, I suggest you cut the asparagus cross-wise; they can be hard to bite through. 

1 bunch thin asparagus
2 T Dijon mustard
1 sheet puff pastry, thawed
3/4 c. shredded gruyere

  • Heat oven to 450°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment
  • Place the puff pastry on the parchment and lightly roll it out
  • Spread the dijon mustard over the puff pastry
  • Lay the asparagus on the tart, side by side and end to end (see above)
  • Spread the shredded cheese  evenly over the tart. Season with salt and pepper.
  • Bake for ~18 minutes or until brown and bubbly
  • Serve warm or room temp
4 thoughts on “Asparagus and Gruyere Tart

Leave a Reply

