Lemon Raspberry Yogurt Cake


Well, it finally happened. I had my first bundt cake disaster. I had heard rumors and rumblings about the difficulties of bundts, but every bundt cake I’d ever made turned out just perfectly. I figured I was immune to the horror of sticking cakes. Apparently not.

I’ve made this cake many times as a loaf cake. I’ve substituted blueberries and blackberries and every time it has come out golden and glorious and absolutely delicious. This time, I was making it for a large brunch and figured, since was doubling it, I would just make a bundt instead (two loaf pans=bundt pan). Bundts are so pretty! And just a weeee bit more fancy than a loaf, without seeming showy. Apparently that was a bad choice.

Let me sell you on this cake first. It’s amazing. It’s simple and straightforward. A super-moist, very light, lemon flavored batter enrobes the berries of your choice. The top is burnished brown and the inside is soft and moist and just a wee bit tangy from the yogurt. Just to up the moistness, you drizzle the warm cake with lemon syrup and allow it to soak in. This is the perfect anytime cake because it’s not too sweet; it can serve equally well as breakfast, dessert, or a midday snack. The inclusion of yogurt, probably wrongly, makes me feel like I’m eating something healthy and the berries add even more freshness. You want this cake, you just do.

This cake is impossible to screw up as long as you stick with a loaf pan. It requires no mixer or fancy ingredients and you can substitute nearly anything you want. They’ll be in loaf form for me from now on. I’m not sure if I didn’t grease and flour the pan enough (I did both!) or if this cake is just too sticky to handle the nooks and crannies of the donut shaped pan. Regardless, my final product tuned out….less than perfect and certainly unfit for a lunch buffet.

I’m concerned that now that I know the horrors of a sticking bundt cake, I’ll be too nervous to go back.  I’m a tad traumatized. But the thing is, this happens to the best of us and if it happens to you, just slice her up. No one will be the wiser and she’ll taste just as delicious.

Lemon Raspberry Yogurt Cake

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen. Makes 1 loaf.

The recipe below is for 1 loaf. If you want to take your chances on a bundt, just double the recipe and bake ~1 hour. I’ve used both full-fat Greek yogurt and fat-free Greek yogurt for this cake and, honestly, I don’t see enough of a difference to rationalize using the full-fat stuff. Stick with the fat-free, it’s better for you and the finished product is just as good.

1 1/2 c + 1 T all-purpose flour
2 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1 c plain Greek yogurt
1 c + 2 T sugar
3 extra-large eggs
zest from 2 lemons
1/2 t vanilla extract
1/2 c vegetable oil
1 1/2 c raspberries
1/3 c lemon juice

  • Heat oven to 350°F. Grease a 8 1/2 by 4 1/4 by 2 1/2-inch loaf pan well
  • In a large bowl, sift 1 1/2 c flour, baking powder, and salt
  • In another bowl, whisk together the yogurt, 1 c sugar, eggs, lemon zest, vanilla and oil
  • Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and whisk until smooth
  • Toss the raspberries with the remaining flour and fold them into the batter with a spatula
  • Pour the batter into the greased pan and bake ~50 min or until the tester comes out clean
  • While the cake bakes, ccombine the lemon juice and 2 T sugar in a pan over medium heat, stirring until the sugar dissolves
  • Let the cake cool for 10 minutes, then remove from pan and use a toothpick to poke holes in the cake
  • Pour the lemon syrup over the cake, allowing it to drip into the holes
  • Cool completely



2 thoughts on “Lemon Raspberry Yogurt Cake

  1. I made this recipe the other day as I had fresh raspberries I wanted to get rid of. This was the best bread that I have ever made and it certainly felt healthy with the berries, yogurt and olive oil. ( I only had evoo so I substituted extra virgin olive oil for the vegetable oil). Thanks for the recipe! Loved it and will make it again!

Leave a Reply

