Seared Tuna and Avocado Salad with Wasabi-Lime Dressing

I have a tuna problem.  I eat sushi at least once a week, sometimes more (sometimes much much more) and it always involved tuna avocado rolls. I eat tuna salad sandwiches at least once a week; nothing fancy, tuna and mayo, salt and pepper, perfection in a sandwich. If I can find a tuna burger, with pickled ginger and wasabi mayo and crunchy cabbage, I am oh-so-very in. Love. I’m willing to take my chances with mercury poisoning for my favorite fish. This salad is going into my repertoire. Fantastic.

This meal is yet another example of how hard Ina Garten rocks. I’m sorry, I love the woman and she has never steered me wrong. Like all of her dishes, this turns a few good ingredients into something amazing. Chunks of seared tuna, still raw in the center, are tossed with ripe avocado, hot red onion, chopped scallions and a clear-your-sinuses (in the best possible way) wasabi-lime dressing. It takes no more than 10 minutes to put together and, I promise you, no more than 5 minutes to devour.

Ina serves this in toasted hotdog rolls, which I’m sure would be delicious and would temper some of the acidity and spice. Instead, to keep things light, I ate it as a lettuce wrap on day one. On day two, I tossed it with some chickpeas and crunchy romaine. Both days it was awesome. This is a great, light, zingy summer meal. It’s umami all over the place. I’m going to be eating it a lot this summer. Probably weekly.

Seared Tuna and Avocado Salad with Wasabi-Lime Dressing

Adapted from Ina Garten. Serves 4.

1 lb tuna steak, 1-inch thick
olive oil
zest of 1 lime
3 T freshly squeezed lime juice (2 limes)
1/2 T prepared wasabi paste
1 t low sodium soy sauce
5 dashes Tabasco
1 firm, ripe Hass avocado, diced
1/4 red onion, chopped
1 T sliced scallion, white and green parts
1 T toasted sesame seeds (I left them out just because I didn’t have any, but no doubt they would be delicious)
8 large lettuce leaves, 4 hotdog rolls, or 4 tortillas

  • Rub the tuna steak in olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper
  • Heat a dry frying pan over high heat and cook the tuna for 1.5-2 minutes on each side, until well-seared, but still raw in the center
  • Cool the tuna and cut into bite-sized cubes
  • In a medium bowl, whisk the lime zest, lime juice, wasabi paste, soy sauce and tobasco
  • Toss the avocado in the dressing, then add the tuna, red onion and scallions and toss again
  • Pile in buns, or wrap in lettuce or tortillas and enjoy
6 thoughts on “Seared Tuna and Avocado Salad with Wasabi-Lime Dressing

  1. Just came back from eating my way through Kauai and what do you think I had almost daily? AHI! YAY for Ahi poke wraps with wasabi dressing and triple YAY that you introduced me to this salad because now that I am back to the dullness of my normal life, I am having withdrawals from my beloved tuna. We have to meet someday (you and I…not tuna and I to be clear)…our taste in food is just too similar. Have you read Snowflower and the Secret Fan? I am only on Chapter 4 or so but I have learned about “Sames” or women who are very similar…maybe were were supposed to be “Sames”?

    • I have not read that Geni, but I may have to. I think you’re right, we have strangely similar tastes in..everything! And I agree, I think we have to cross paths at some point!

Leave a Reply

