Cherry Tomato Clafoutis

I just ate this for lunch, you guys, and it’s taking ALL the will power for me to not eat the entire pan. I’m pretty sure I can hear the tomatoes whispering to me from the kitchen. And the goat cheese. It’s mostly the goat cheese.

I’m not sure what was wrong this me this week. I was just spent from the moment I got up in the morning to the second I went to bed each day. I had no energy, no desire to do anything but the minimum required activities and along with that went a complete disinterest in cooking anything. I think I had cereal for dinner one night. Falafel from the Falafel king another (that was the right choice; if you find yourself out in Astoria, you should hit him up). And one night was definitely a peanut butter and banana sandwich. Luckily, I think this sweet (as in cute; it’s totally savory), easy, summery lunch may have catapulted me out of my slump.

I wait for tomato season all year long. I could pretty easily live off of nothing but summer tomatoes and basil for weeks at a time. This year, I even have a couple tomato plants on my balcony. Those little green ones? They’re mine! I’m such a proud mama.  I really am happy with a tomato and mayo sandwich or chopped tomato with salt and pepper. So good, so simple. But sometimes I want to do something else with them, without jeopardizing their integrity, of course. I saw this recipe a couple weeks ago over at Food 52 and bookmarked for when my little cherry tomato plant has produced enough tomatoes. With some awesome tomato-donations from my friend, I was good to go today.

A clafoutis is usually made with fruit and sweet custard and served as a dessert. This one goes the savory route by omitting sugar, amping up the salt and pepper, and tossing in some goat cheese. The batter is a simple, thick, egg-based custard, kind of resembling a pancake batter but without the leavener. Since all the puff comes from the eggs, you end up with a kind of custardy, eggy base that reminds me a lot of a dutch baby. Then you have those sweet, acidic roasted baby tomatoes and tangy, creamy goat cheese (dear lord, I love goat cheese). I ate it with some baby greens and chopped basil, tossed with lemon juice and olive oil, salt and pepper. The peppery, tart little greens were a perfect foil for the clafoutis. This lunch rocked my world. I’m feeling pretty happy about this recipe and can’t wait sub other things in for the tomatoes (zucchini? broccoli? mushrooms….omg, mushrooms), but most importantly I’m back on the cooking bandwagon and am now accepting suggestions for what to make tomorrow.

Cherry Tomato Clafoutis

Adapted from Meredith Shanley via Food 52. Serves 3-4 for a light lunch.

The cooking prep portion of this meal takes about 3 minutes. Then you just have to be patient and let it bake. I used skim milk (it’s the only milk I keep in the house on a regular basis), and it was absolutely fine! Feel free to toss some herbs directly in if you’re feeling fancy.

3 eggs
1/3 c whole milk
1/3 c cream
1/2 c flour
1/2 t salt
1/4 t freshly ground black pepper
12-14 cherry tomatoes
2 oz goat cheese, crumbled

  • Heat oven to 350ºF and liberally butter a round ceramic baking dish. My dish was a little small, but it didn’t matter in the end. A 8″x8″ pyrex would probably work well
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk and cream. Add the flour, salt, and pepper and whisk until smooth (a couple little flour lumps won’t kill you)
  • Spread the cherry tomatoes in the buttered dish, then pour the custard over and around them
  • Sprinkle the goat cheese evenly around the dish
  • Bake 30-35 min or until puffed and golden
  • Serve with baby greens tossed with lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper
One thought on “Cherry Tomato Clafoutis

Leave a Reply

