Bloody Mary Salad

Very important question. Can you give yourself an ulcer by eating too many tomatoes? Because  if that’s the case, I’m certainly on my way. Thank goodness for my tomatopalooza suppliers, the Carones (happy now? :)); if not for them, I’d likely starve!

I saw this recipe over the 4th of July weekend. I was on the plane, headed to Missouri, and immediately started salivating. If there wasn’t so much food on the roster already, I would have made it that weekend. But I didn’t get around to it and you know how things go, suddenly it was a month and a half later and I still hadn’t made it around to the salad. Faced with a bowl full of perfectly ripe sweeties, I figured it was time.

I have to admit that I vacillate between a mimosa girl and a bloody mary girl. It depends on my mood and my level of hungover (mild (mimosa)……extreme pain (bloody mary)). But honestly what is there NOT to like about them? Spicy, salty, acidic, and just a little sweet. Yes. I like mine heavy on the horseradish and heavy on the black pepper. Is there a shrimp on the side? Pickled okra? If you insist. I suppose that it’s really no surprise that I love them, given how much I worship good tomatoes. This salad, it takes all the goodness in a bloody mary and allows you to have it for dinner. With one glaring ommision: the booze. You have NO idea how close I was to adding just a smidgeon of vodka. Lucky for the tomatoes, I was out. Next time though, all bets are off. Boozy salad comin’ up.

This is such an unexpected way to enjoy the season’s tomatoes. Its salty, and spicy and so BRIGHT and all the flavors play off the sweet sweet ripe tomatoes. Make sure you use good ones or there’s just no point. The flavors in this are, obviously, way bold, so if you plan on pairing it with something, steak or spicy shrimp would be the way to go; everything else would be overpowered. It’s just one more way to enjoy summer tomatoes and enjoy the heck out of them, you should. The season isn’t long enough; soon enough the mealy, vapid, winter tomatoes will rear their ugly heads. So until labor day has passed and the days start getting shorter and the breeze starts to promise cozier things, I’m planning on feasting on the embodiment of summer. Hang in there stomach, we can make it.

Bloody Mary Salad

From Bon Appétit. Serves 6-8.

I always have trouble using up celery, so I used way way more than the recipe called for in an effort to make a dent in it. The result, I think, was a slightly heftier salad than it would have otherwise been. If you like celery, go for it. I subbed red wine vinegar, as that’s what I had on hand.

1 c finely chopped red onion
3 T Sherry vinegar, divided
2 lb cherry or grape tomatoes, halved
1 c chopped celery hearts (inner stalks and leaves; from 1 bunch)
1/2 c chopped brined green olives plus 2 tablespoons olive brine
2 T prepared horseradish
1 T Worcestershire sauce
1 t hot pepper sauce
1/2 t celery seeds
2 T olive oil

  • In a large bowl, toss the onion with 1 T vinegar and allow to sit about 10 min, tossing sporadically
  • Add the tomatoes, celery and olives
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together the last 5 ingedients
  • Pour over tomatoes and toss
  • Salt and pepper to taste (Careful here! There’s already a good amount of salt in the dressing. Taste and go from there)
5 thoughts on “Bloody Mary Salad

  1. I love this! Sherry vinegar is the perfect replacement for me. I make a bloody mary with a dash of Spanish dry sherry anyway, it’s called a Bloody Maria. Your tomatoes look beautiful and eating too many tomatoes is good for you, I hope!

Leave a Reply

