Carrot Cupcakes for Me

One year, 365 days, 100 posts. Happy blogoversary to me.

It’s been exactly one year since I started this blog out of boredom one Sunday afternoon. Since then, it’s given me something to do, something to think about, something to pass the time and take my mind off other things. I think the pictures have gotten better, but I’m probably biased. I think food has been pretty good, most of the time. Admittedly, looking back, there are a few things I won’t probably make again, but there are also a lot of things that I have and I will and I hope you do too. I’ve gained a few followers and a few blog friends and kind of love the whole process of sharing what it is I’m doing. It makes the time I spend alone in my kitchen a little less lonely. I don’t mean that to sound as Debbie Downer as I know it does, I just mean that I like sharing food and cooking for people and, living alone, I don’t get to to do it often. But at least I get to share things here. With you. So thank you all for reading.

Somehow, regardless of how busy work and life was, I managed to post every 3 to 4 days for the entire year. I know, I’m shocked too. For that, for my one year blogoversary, I decided I deserved to make myself something. There have been a lot of celebration cakes here over the past year and they’ve been delicious and everyone I’ve baked them for has deserved them. But these are for me. Carrot cake, my favorite.

So I guess all I want to say is congrats to me for 1 whole year of this little blog. And thank you to you, my handful of followers, for bothering to visit and seemingly caring when I post. And thank you for keeping me entertained and sharing my food with me. And here’s to the next year, hopefully you’ll all stick with me.

Do you like my new header? My brother made it for me. I love him.

Carrot Cupcakes

Adapted from Joy the Baker and Martha Stewart. Makes 28ish.

I cut this recipe in half, because even if they are for me, I just don’t need 28 cupcakes.  Cut in half, this recipe made 12 normal cupcakes and 12 mini ones. 

4 c peeled and finely grated carrots (about 6 large)
3 large eggs
2 c sugar
1 1/2 c vegetable oil
1/3 c buttermilk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 c crushed pineapple, well drained
1 c walnuts, toasted and finely chopped
1/2 c sweetened shredded coconut
3 c all-purpose flour
2 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
1 t salt
1 t ground cinnamon
1 t ground ginger
1/8 t ground cloves

Cream cheese frosting (recipe below)

  • Heat oven to 325°F and line 2 muffin tins with cupcake liners
  • In a large bowl, stir together the carrots, eggs, sugar, oil, buttermilk, vanilla, pineapple, walnuts and coconut
  • In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices
  • Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon, until just mixed
  • Divide amongst muffin cups and bake ~23 minutes, or until slightly golden and a tester inserted into the middle comes out clean (bake ~15 min for mini muffins)
  • Let cool completely, then ice with cream cheese frosting (recipe below)
Cream Cheese Icing
10 T room-temperature unsalted butter
16 oz room-temperature cream cheese
4 c confectioners’ sugar
1 t vanilla extract
  • Cream the butter and cream cheese together until fluffy
  • Add the powdered sugar and vanilla and beat until smooth
  • Refrigerate until ready to use
9 thoughts on “Carrot Cupcakes for Me

  1. I LOVE your little resuable muffin cups! I need to get some of those, pronto! Also, I have a question… you said you cut this recipe in half, but the original recipe calls for 3 eggs. What did you do? Did you try to halve an egg? Or did you just round up or down, using 1 or 2 eggs? Just curious as I have run across this dilemma before. 😉

  2. Cheers to you! Imagine me taking a bite out of one of those creamy, spice filled cupcakes and we will toast to your success and enjoyment in blogging. It is a kick, sometimes a little crazy but definitely nice to meet new people in the foodie universe. I always enjoy your recipes and your posts!

  3. Just discovered your blog via a link on Food Lush! (I’m a writer there.) GREAT space you’ve got here! I used to live in Astoria, so your pictures really take me back. Your recipes look wonderful. I’m subscribing! Keep up the great cooking.

    • Thank you so much Jen! Honestly, I’m still figuring this whole blogging thing out, but I’m enjoying the learning process! Food Lush is great and you’re awesome just for being a part of it!

Leave a Reply

