Potato, Feta and Olive Flatbread

Have I told you how much I love potatoes? I’m sure I have, but just in case: I LOVE POTATOES. There. I said it. Clear enough?

This recipe was on my radar the moment I saw it in last month’s Food and Wine. I love myself a potato pizza. A restaurant in my neighborhood makes an amazing potato, apple, caramelized onion, pancetta and goat cheese pizza that I frequently crave. I mean, carb-on-carb action; what isn’t there to like? For me, this particular recipe became a sure thing the second it tossed in some feta, the only cheese I cannot live without. I initially planned to make this up 2 weeks ago, but as often happens on the weekends, life got in the way and it never happened. Luckily, all of the ingredients keep and I finally got cooking this weekend during Irene.

This was perfect hurricane food. Warm and comforting, and easy, easy, easy. A mandoline makes slicing the potatoes a breeze, but you could also use a food processor with a slicing blade or just a really sharp knife and some patience. I went so far as to use a Trader Joe’s crust. Guys, there was a hurricane coming, there was no time for yeast. My only complaint about the whole process was that with the glut of oppressive, fluid-filled tropical air, cranking my oven above 400°F was nah much fun. If I hadn’t removed my window unit AC in a fit of “this is installed incorrectly and will probably flip right out and into someone else’s window with a properly aimed Irene gust,” it may have been ok. But instead, there was sweat. Ah well, you do what you have to do.

I really loved this pizza. But again, it was one of these situations where I, personally, love each ingredient so much that it would be impossible for me not to like it. I think the sweet potatoes were a stroke of genius, playing the same roll as the caramelized onions on vesta’s pizza; to cut the savory with something fragrant and sweet. I’ll give you fair warning that a friend of mine wasn’t sure about the olives. I liked the briney bites, but I could see leaving them off. Or perhaps leaving them on and adding some of those caramelized onions…or bacon…or prosciutto…or swapping the feta for goat cheese…thyme would be nice….or rosemary…garlic! There are so many options guys! Just go for it and make it yours.

Potato, Feta and Olive Pizza

Adapted barely from Food and Wine.

I subbed kalamata olives for the picholines and red potatoes for the baking potatoes (no peeling required).

2, 1/2-lb baking potatoes, peeled and sliced crosswise 1/8″ thick on a mandoline
Olive oil
2, 1/2-lb sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced crosswise 1/8″ thick on a mandoline
12 oz store-bought pizza dough (or, ok, make your own if you must)
1/2 c crumbled feta cheese
6 Picholine olives, pitted and quartered

  • Heat oven to 400°F
  • Spread the potato slices on a parchment-lined baking sheet, brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Invert another baking pan on top of the potato slices (this is to keep them soft, rather than crispy). Bake ~ 8 min or until tender
  • Repeat with sweet potato slices, cooking ~10 min or until tender
  • Increase oven to 500°F
  • On a lightly-floured surface, roll/stretch the pizza dough into a 10″x12″ rectangle and transfer to cookie sheet
  • Brush dough with olive oil and spread both kinds of potato slices evenly on top. Brush lightly with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper (if needed, you should have been tasting your potatoes)
  • Sprinkle feta and olives over the potatoes
  • Bake ~7 minutes or until golden brown
2 thoughts on “Potato, Feta and Olive Flatbread

Leave a Reply

