Apple-Berry Baked Oatmeal

My apartment has temperature-control issues. In the summer, it’s sweat lodge-hot. In the winter, it’s igloo-cold. Apparently, the seasons have officially changed, because this morning I woke up to a frigid apartment, far far colder than the ambient temperature outside. What better way to start off a chilly October Saturday morning, than with a wedge of baked oatmeal.

I pretty much worship all things oatmeal. It’s a thing. Oatmeal cookies, oatmeal breads, muesli…it’s all good. God help me if I get my hands on something topped with oatmeal crumble. I just cannot get enough of its hearty chewiness. Not surprisingly, this recipe set all of my bells a’ringing.

This takes about 5 minutes to put together, but about 50 minutes to bake, so you may want to start before you’re starving or, like me, you’ll be stalking the oven while your stomach growls. I used a mixture or raspberries and blueberries, but this recipe is infinitely adaptable, which means you can probably cobble it together right now, without going to the store. You could use any fruit, dried or fresh (apricots would be amazeballs), any flavor of yogurt, any kind of nuts. I think you could even throw peanut butter and chocolate chips in there if you were so inclined (omg, I may be a genius).

The finished product is crunchy on the outside and soft and dense in the middle, with that great oatmeal chew. I used plain yogurt rather than vanilla, so the vanilla flavor wasn’t as strong as it was intended to be; but honestly, I liked that. I’ve been nibbling on it cold all day-it becomes much more solid and chewy and for someone that dies for that texture, it is a-okay with me. This may become a staple of my frigid fall/winter mornings.

Apple-Berry Baked Oatmeal

Adapted from Whole Foods

2 c frozen mixed berries
2 c rolled oats
1/2 c chopped pecans
1 t baking powder
3/4 t fine sea salt
1 apple, peeled, cored and grated (I didn’t peel mine)
1 c skim milk
1/2 c fat-free yogurt
1/3 c maple syrup
2 t vanilla extract
1 egg plus 1 egg yolk

  • Heat oven to 375ºF. Grease a pie plate
  • In a large bowl, mix the berries, oats, pecans, baking powder, salt and apple
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together the milk, yogurt, maple syrup, vanilla, egg and egg yolk
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly
  • Pour into pie plate and bake ~50 minutes or until firm and golden
  • Let cool 10 minutes, then cut into wedges and serve
5 thoughts on “Apple-Berry Baked Oatmeal

  1. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It positively
    helpful and it has helped me out loads. I am hoping to contribute & aid
    different customers like its aided me. Good job.

Leave a Reply

