Apple Cider Cream Pie

I often read my cooking magazines at the gym. I like the juxtaposition of working out while staring at food. I think it’s funny…I’m easily amused. Last Saturday while sweating on the elliptical, I ran across this gem. I HAD to have it. Immediately.

Recently there’s been a self-imposed ban on desserts in my house.  They’re only allowed when there’s a reason for them-birthdays and special events and whatnot. A Sunday at home, by myself, with a roasted chicken doesn’t exactly qualify as a special occasion. But, as these are my rules, I decide when to break them. And I needed to break them for this pie.

This pie is easy easy easy. The crust comes together like a dream and bakes up crisp and flaky. The crust was so easy in fact, that I began to wonder why I fear them so. I think it’s too many summertime attempts in a too-hot kitchen. Apparently, if the kitchen is cool, a flaky crust is no big thing. The custard is just reduced apple cider with eggs and sour cream and sugar. My favorite pie, which you rarely see anywhere anymore, is Sour Cream and Raisin. I know, it’s totally old fashioned, but it’s just too good. Due to this, I believe, any pie with sour cream in it gets me excited. Finally, the topping is just whipped cream with cinnamon and sugar. Delicious. Simple. Too bad I cooked the hell out of it.

Sigh. I was so excited about this pie and then I went and overcooked it like nothin’ else. Don’t get me wrong, the flavor was BANGING; the custard was tart and apple-y and perfectly balanced with the cinnamon cream. But the texture was off because, well, I was cooking too many things at once and let this get away a little bit. It happens to the best of us. There’s no shred of doubt in my mind, however, that if I was paying more attention and didn’t cook the living daylights out of this pie, that it would have been spectacular.

Apple Cider Cream Pie

From Food and Wine.

Crust
1 c all-purpose flour
1 T cornstarch
1 T sugar
1 t kosher salt
1 stick unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch dice and chilled
3 T cold milk
1 t apple cider vinegar

Filling and topping
2 c apple cider
1 c sugar
1/2 c sour cream
1/4 t salt
4 large eggs
1 c heavy cream
1/2 t cinnamon

  • Combine the flour, cornstarch, sugar and salt in a food processor and pulse until well mixed. Add the butter and pulse in 1-second bursts until it resembles course sand. Add the milk and vinegar and pulse until the dough just comes together. Dump out onto a sheet of plastic wrap, shape into a disk, wrap tightly and refrigerate 30 minutes
  • Preheat oven to 425°F
  • On a floured surface, roll dough into 11″ circle and place in a 9″ pie dish. Trim edges of dough and crimp.
  • Line the crust with parchment paper and fill with pie weights or beans. Bake in the lower 1/3 of the oven for ~15 minutes until barely set. Remove parchment and weights, cover the edges of the crust with foil strips and bake another 15 minutes, until set but not browned. Press any bubbles to deflate and let cool
  • Lower oven to 350°

While the crust cooks, start the filling

  • In a small saucepan, boil the cider, reducing it to 1/2 cup. Let cool.
  • Whisk 3/4 c sugar, the sour cream and salt into the cider. Add the eggs and whisk until smooth
  • Pour into the crust (leave the foil strips on the crust)
  • Bake ~30-40 min until the custard is set along the edges but still jiggly in the center. Let cool.
  • In a medium bowl, whip the heavy cream with 1/4 c sugar and cinnamon until stiff
  • Mound the cream on the pie, decorate with apple slices and cinnamon if you want and eat!
8 thoughts on “Apple Cider Cream Pie

  1. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you will be a great
    author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will eventually come back
    in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage continue your great writing, have a nice morning!

  2. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for.
    Would you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome weblog!

  3. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as
    though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos
    to your weblog when you could be giving us something informative to
    read?

  4. Hi there! This is the third time visiting now and I
    personally just wanted to say I truley get pleasure from reading through your website.

    I decided to bookmark it at reddit.com with your title: Apple Cider
    Cream Pie | and your Domain name: http://offallytasty.
    com/2011/10/22/apple-cider-cream-pie/. I hope this is okay with you, I’m making an attempt to give your wonderful blog a bit more publicity. Be back shortly.

Leave a Reply

