Morrocan(ish) Carrot Soup

Apparently I don’t eat carrots. I mean, I do, but based on the sheer weight of the carrots I was able to pull together from the nether regions of my fridge last week (2 lbs!), I don’t eat them nearly often enough. To me, carrots are an integral part of almost every soup or stew or roast, but during the warm food void that is summer, they go unnoticed by yours truly. This soup was my remedy to an infestation of carrots.

 Such an easy thing carrot soup. Saute some onions and garlic, boil some carrots, puree and done. This regular carrot soup became a moroccan(ish) carrot soup when I decided to add ras el hanout. I have so many spices, people. I have a full rack on the wall and another stock of mini mason jars full in the cupboard. I’m sure that some of them are older than they should be, but it’s great to be able to look at a recipe and, no matter what country it hails from, know that the right seasonings are probably in the kitchen already. I chose ras el hanout for this soup by stuffing my nose into every one of my spice blends. This one “matched” what was happening in the soup pot. Voila, Moroccanish.

This soup is spicy and sweet and so jam packed with so much vitamin A, you risk turning orange…perfect for Halloween, I suppose.

Moroccanish Carrot Soup

Makes 4-6 cups.

2 T olive oil
1 lg onion, diced
2 garlic cloves, sliced
1 T grated ginger
1 t ras el hanout
1/2 t cumin
1.75-2 lbs carrots, peeled and sliced
4 c low-sodium chicken broth
1 T honey
Juice of 1 lemon

  • Heat the olive oil in a heavy stock pot
  • Add the onion, garlic, and ginger and saute ~5 min, or until beginning to soften
  • Add the spices and cook until fragrant, ~1 min
  • Add the carrots and the broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until carrots are soft, ~20-30 min
  • Transfer the soup in to a blender, and puree in batches
  • Pour pureed soup back into stockpot. If the soup is too thick for your liking, add some more broth or water until it reaches the desired consistency and bring to a simmer
  • Add the honey, lemon juice and salt and pepper to taste
4 thoughts on “Morrocan(ish) Carrot Soup

  1. Perfect timing!! I was just looking for a good carrot soup recipe…though, I was going to go for carrot + butternut. Ya think?

Leave a Reply

