Brussels Sprout Hash with Caramelized Shallots

Here’s the deal: I love brussels sprouts. Love, love, lovelovelovelurveeeee. I have always been such a devoted follower of them that one year the mere threat of a brussels-sprout-less Thanksgiving table sent 12 year-old me into full-on panic-tantrum mode. I’ll eat them pretty much however they’re prepared and generally, the more simply, the better. I first tried this recipe several years ago for Thankgiving (or maybe Christmas?) and haven’t looked back since.

This recipe couldn’t be simpler. You quickly fry shredded sprouts in a hot pan then steam them until just tender and still green*, then you toss them with deeply caramelized, cider vinegar-glazed shallots. Oh, and butter. There’s butter too.

Look, just take my word for it. If you don’t try this recipe, you’re missing out on one of the best holiday dishes out there. And hey, if you refuse to take my word for it, then take the 242 happy reviewers’ words instead.

*Yes, I realize mine aren’t quite bright green here…I was briefly distracted by reruns of Weeds and wandered away from the steaming sprouts. Don’t do as I do, do as I say.

Brussels Sprout Hash with Caramelized Shallots

From Bon Appetít. Serves 8.

I used my food processor for both the shallots and the brussels sprouts.

6 T (3/4 stick) butter, divided
1/2 lb shallots, thinly sliced
2 T apple cider vinegar (plus more, to taste)
4 t sugar
1 1/2 lb brussels sprouts, trimmed and shredded (or sliced very thinly)
3 T extra-virgin olive oil
1 c water

  • In a medium skillet over medium heat, melt 3 T butter. Add the shallots, sprinkle with salt and pepper and sauté until soft and golden (~10 min)
  • Add vinegar and sugar. Stir until glazed and deep brown, ~3 min. Set aside
  • In another large skillet, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Add brussels sprouts, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and sauté until just browning at edges (~6 min)
  • Add 1 c water and 3 T butter; sauté until most of water evaporates and the sprouts are tender and bright green (~3 min)
  • Add the shallots, mix and season with salt and pepper. I sometimes add a spritz of apple cider at this point if I feel like it needs some brightness-just taste and season accordingly!
     

 

2 thoughts on “Brussels Sprout Hash with Caramelized Shallots

  1. I’m also a huge brussels sprout fan. These sound divine! We roasted some with bacon and onions for Thanksgiving. Have you ever had them cooked with asparagus? I tried it out recently and was surprised by how well the flavors match.

  2. This looks so good. I would cry to if Brussels sprouts weren’t on my holiday table but at TWELVE years old?!!! That’s a pretty impressive palate at such a young age. I have a similar dish I make as a warmed salad but with bacon and crumbled blue cheese on top. Your caramelized shallots look ridiculously delicious!

Leave a Reply

