Black Olive Sables

Well, we did it. If we make it through the next 8 hours, we’ve successfully finished another year. For me, this one was average at start, stressful in the the middle and exciting at the end. Who knows what next year will be. I can’t wait to see.

I’m going to make this one short since I’m guessing we all have some prepping and primping to do for this evening. I found this recipe in one of my new cookbooks that I received at Christmas. I know I’m a bit behind. I believe Around My French Table was on all the “Best Cookbooks” lists of 2010. But hey, better late than never!


Fair warning: These cookies, or biscuits, or whatever you choose to call them, are weird. And absolutely delicious. They start out sweet, then suddenly you get a bit of olive and they become salty and briny and fruity from the olive oil. They contain grated egg yolk (see the yellow specks? I didn’t grate mine well enough. Learn from my mistakes.) and potato starch and straight-up melt in your mouth. They are odd little things, but I’ll just say that I had 4 of them this morning before breakfast. They’re that good. If you’re slightly more normal and/or have more self control than I do, you should save these for your cocktail party tonight. They’ll be an amazing snack with your bubbly or other beverage of choice.

So go whip up a batch of these and pop them in the oven. Then go make yourself even more beautiful that you already are (as if that’s possible). I hope that tonight is wonderful for you whether you’ll be on the couch or out on the town. And here’s to a wonderful 2012 for all of us. I hope you all get everything you hope for. Cheers, lovelies!

Black Olive Sables

From Around My French Table by Dorie Greenspan. Makes ~60 cookies.

Dorie says that if you’re in a hurry, you can freeze the dough for an hour before slicing. I have a sneaking suspicion that you may be able to substitute cornstarch for the potato starch that’s called for here, but no promises. If you try it, report back!

1 hardboiled egg yolk, grated with a rasp or cheese grater (white discarded)
2 1/4 c all-purpose flour
6 T potato starch
15 T unsalted butter, room temperature
1/3 c olive oil
1 c powdered sugar
2 1/2 oz (about 1/2 c) firm pitted black olives, chopped (I used kalamata; Dorie recommends oil cured olives; do NOT use canned black olives)

  • Sift the flour and potato starch into a medium bowl
  • In a large bowl of a stand mixer (or using a hand mixer), beat the butter until fluffy
  • Add the oil and the grated yolk and mix on medium, until combined
  • Add the powdered sugar and mix on low until combined
  • Add the dry ingredients and mix on low until it just begins to come together (don’t overmix it)
  • Using a spatula, stir in the olives. The dough will be very very soft
  • Divide the dough into 3 parts. Shape each part into a log ~1 1/2″ in diameter. Wrap each in plastic wrap and chill in the fridge several hours or over night
  • Heat the oven to 325°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment or a silpat.
  • With a sharp knife, working with one log at a time, slice the cookies ~ 1/4″ thick (you’ll get about 20 from each log)
  • Place on the baking sheet and bake on a rack in the middle of the oven, ~15 min or until firm, but not brown (a little golden around the edges is okay, brown on top is not)
  • Transfer cookies to a cooling rack to cool
  • Repeat with the rest of the cookies, being sure to use a cool baking sheet each time
2 thoughts on “Black Olive Sables

  1. Interesting. I love food that is “weird but delicious” 🙂 That is actually how I have always thought of olives in general. I think they taste so weird, but so good. I can’t quit eating them. Thanks for sharing and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

