Apricot-Rosemary Bars


I have a thing for desserts with herbs in them. When I first really started reading food blogs and cooking from them a million years ago, the first recipe that I remember seeing and making was a rosemary shortbread. I cannot get enough rosemary. I love it.

These are so good. Fruity and herbal with a nut-studded crumb topping. So very, very good! They’re sweet, but not too, and honestly, make a darn delicious breakfast with a cup of coffee.

These bars do take a little while to make, but you can easily make the crust and stew the fruit the day before you want to assemble and eat them. You’ll be glad that you put the time in, promise.

Apricot-Rosemary Bars

From Baked via Savory Simple, via David Lebowitz.

My only complaint about these was that the crumble was too…crumbly. I would add a little more butter next time. I’ve amended the recipe below. If you cant find california apricots, add a tablespoon of lemon juice to the filling. I did. 

Rosemary crust

12 T unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 c powdered sugar
1/2 t salt
3/4 t vanilla extract
1 1/2 t fresh rosemary, finely chopped
1 3/4 c all-purpose flour

Apricot filling

2 c dried apricots
1 1/2 c water
1 1/2 T lemon juice (omit if using California dried apricots)
1/2 c sugar
3 T honey
2 T brandy
pinch of salt

Crumb topping

1/2 c all-purpose flour
1/2 c packed brown sugar
1/3 c pecans, finely chopped
pinch of salt
6 T cold unsalted butter, cubed


  • Line  9×9″ pan with foil, leaving an overhang and grease with cooking spray

Make the shortbread:

  • In a large bowl with a mixer on medium-high speed, cream the butter, powdered sugar and salt until light and fluffy
  • Add the vanilla and rosemary, then slowly add the flour and mix until incorporated
  • Press the dough evenly into the prepared pan.  Refrigerate for 30 minutes
  • Preheat the oven to 350°F and bake for 25-30 min, or until lightly golden on top.  Cool to room temperature

WHile the shortbread bakes, make the apricot filling

  • Combine all the ingredients for the filling in a medium saucepan and simmer on low heat for ~45 minutes, or until all of the liquid is absorbed
  • Cool and then puree in a food processor until smooth

Make the crumb topping:

  • Combine all of the crumb ingredients in a medium bowl. Using your fingers, rub the butter into the dry ingredients until moist and crumbly

Assemble

  • Spread the apricot filling evenly on top of the shortbread crust
  • Sprinkle on the crumb topping evenly and gently press it into place
  • Bake for 20-25 min, until slightly browned
One thought on “Apricot-Rosemary Bars

  1. I have a love affair with herbs in my baked goods. This apricot rosemary bar sounds like the perfect anecdote to my blah day today. Your bars are golden and gorgeous Cali. I was bummed more people didn’t come on over here to check you out. Apparently, I have very little influence in the blog world. This not news to me though. Your blog is really one of my favorite foodie stops. I always know what you have on the menu would appeal to me, is new and fresh and looks amazing. Take care!

Leave a Reply

