Wild Rice Salad with Miso Dressing

I swear, every time I make something with miso, it blows my mind. So much goodness. So much lip-smacking, in your face umami. I can’t even handle it.

All I want to do is eat this salad forever and ever and ever. It’s so fresh and nutty. Something about the sesame-miso dressing whispered peanut butter at me, though there was no peanut butter, or anything creamy involved. The earthy wild rice and the lightly soy-sauced tofu added to the overall nuttiness. The sweet crunchy and carrots and just-cooked edamame. Just omg guys, honestly this couldn’t be better.

You know what? I’m not even going to say anything else about this. It’s spectacular. Go make it.

Wild Rice Salad with Miso Dressing

Adapted (minimally) from Sprouted Kitchen. Serves 3 as a main.

1/2 c wild rice, cooked according to package directions
12 oz block, extra firm tofu, cut into 1/2″ cubes and dried
2 t olive oil
2 t soy sauce
1 generous c sliced carrots
3/4 c cooked, shelled edamame
3 T sesame seeds, toasted (optional)
1/2 c chopped cilantro
2 T white miso
2 T honey
1 T sesame oil
2 1/2 T rice wine vinegar
1 shallot, minced
Juice of 1 medium orange

  • In a large heavy skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the tofu and brown for 5 minutes. Add the soy sauce and some black pepper and saute another 2-3 minutes, until crusty. Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, combine the tofu, rice, carrots, edamame, sesame seeds and cilantro
  • Whisk together the remaining ingredients and pour over the salad. Toss to coat
  • Eat warm, room temp, or cold
8 thoughts on “Wild Rice Salad with Miso Dressing

  1. That is a gorgeous salad, what beautiful photos! And it looks deeelicious, too. I agree about the magic of miso. There’s a recipe on Epicurious for turnips with miso butter–that butter is amazing. I make that recipe and add tofu and winter squash to the braise. Oh boy. As a fellow miso appreciator, you might like that too.

  2. That really is delicious looking. Wild rice is always so appealing. I’m a little scared of cooking with miso now, since the last thing I had with it tasted awful… Perhaps I ought to give it another try…

  3. You are blowing me away with your mega healthy, and mega delicious dishes lately! This just jumps off the page and i just have to commit to healthier eating again and going the extra mile for my own food. I know no one at my house would eat this other than me and sometimes it’s hard to take the time to make something just for me. But this would totally be worth it!

Leave a Reply

