Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

I know it’s cheesy and I know it’s a Hallmark holiday, but I’ve got to be honest: I love Valentine’s Day.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve never in my adult life received flowers or chocolates; I’ve never been wined and dined; never been out dancing; hell, I’ve never really been out for a Valentine’s dinner at all (my ex would only acknowledge Valentine’s under extreme duress). For me, it goes back much further and is much more nostalgic than that.

It reminds me of doilies, and foil-lined valentines boxes.

Of candy hearts and bon bons.

Of pink and red…and more pink, and more red…

Of everyone in the class gets a Valentine and that’s the way it is, because no one should be left out and there’s no reason for hurt feelings…

Of more innocent days when it wasn’t about having a partner and was all about the candy and construction paper.

It’s nostalgic for me. Sure, sometime, I wouldn’t mind flowers (or…food! or…jewelery! or…fuzzy kittens! lol) but until then, each year I will always make something sweet and pink (or in this case red) and and pretend that I’m 10 again, decorating my valentines box with all manner of shiny things and I’ll remember what it was like to care about nothing but how many candy hearts fit in those little envelopes.  Happy Valentines Day!

Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

From Sweet Pea’s Kitchen.

I doubled the recipe and made a 9×13″, but the didn’t bake up quite right (too crunchy on the edges, too wet in the middle). I would suggest sticking to the original recipe.

1/2 c butter, cut into cubes
2-oz dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
1 c sugar
2 large eggs
1 t vanilla extract
1 1/2 t red food coloring
2/3 c all purpose flour
1/4 t salt

Cream cheese mixture

8-oz cream cheese, room temperature
1/3 c sugar
1 large egg
1/2 t vanilla extract

  • Heat oven to 350°F. Grease an 8″ metal baking pan. Line the pan with parchment, letting the edges overhang. Grease the parchment
  • In a small, microwave-safe bowl, combine the butter and chocolate. Melt in the microwave, stirring every 30 seconds, until smooth
  • In a large bowl, whisk together the sugar, eggs, vanilla, and food coloring
  • Add the chocolate mixture to the sugar mixture and stir to combine
  • Add the flour and salt and stir until just combined
  • Pour into the prepared pan and smooth the top
  • In a medium bowl, whip the cream cheese, sugar, egg and vanilla until very smooth
  • Dollop the cream cheese mixture over the batter. Spread the cream cheese, swirling it with a knife as you go
  • Bake ~35-40 min until the cheesecake is set and a knife inserted into the middle comes out clean
  • When the brownies are cool, use the parchment paper to lift the brownies out of the pan and slice
2 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

Leave a Reply

