Breakfast Quinoa

I’m a breakfast believer. Part of it is probably that I love breakfast foods-cereal, oatmeal, smoothies (particularly chocolate, banana, peanut butter protein smoothies), eggs (sunny side up! poached! always runny!)-so why wouldn’t I take every chance to eat them? Part of it is that 2-3 days a work week, I’ve already been up for 2 hours and to the gym by the time 7:30 rolls around and damn it, I am HANGRY. But mostly it’s that I believe it’s good for you; it starts your day off right, giving you energy and kickstarting your metabolism. Because I eat breakfast every single day, I can easily find myself in ruts. I’ll eat nothing but cereal for a month straight and then follow that up with 3 weeks worth of smoothies, then 4 weeks of overnight oats. I’m always looking for new options, so I was thrilled when I found this one.

This breakfast quinoa is brilliant because it’s like eating a hot grain cereal, but with a ton of natural protein so that you stay full straight through to lunch. No joke. Take it from the girl who always find’s herself famished at 11AM, shoving handfuls of whatever devil food her coworkers brought in that day into her face-this keeps you full. The thought of cooking the crunchy little seeds in slightly sweet, tropical, light coconut milk made my mouth water from the get go. And topping it off with some fruit and nuts and a drizzle of honey (or maple syrup)…I mean, come on. Done and done.

It may seem obvious, but if you’re going to make this, you really need to like quinoa….because that’s all it is. There are no bells and whistles to mask it. At first, it may throw you a little bit, it’s not what you’re used to. “Isn’t this lunch food?” your stubborn brain will ask, but just keep eating, I promise that by bite 3, you’ll have your brain eating out of your hand…wait…that’s not right…I’ve confused myself. You know what I mean-you’ll be totally on board with quinoa for breakfast. Although I loved the coconut milk version of this, I think I prefer it made with vanilla soy milk (a wee bit less fat that way too). You can put pretty much any topping on here that you want-pecans or walnuts with chopped banana and a little maple syrup goes a long, long way. Trust. So congrats for your escape from your breakfast rut! And here’s to the beginning of a new (delicious) one.

Breakfast Quinoa

Adapted from How Sweet It Is. Serves 2.

I upped the liquid so that the quinoa is a little more swimmy at the end. You can use whatever liquid you want- coconut milk, soy milk, even plain ol’ regular milk. I like a little drizzle of honey or maple syrup. Because I can. 

1/2 c dry quinoa, rinsed
1 c canned lite coconut milk, plus some for drizzling (or vanilla soy milk)
2 t vanilla extract
1/2 t cinnamon
pinch of salt
Possible toppings: chopped banana, blueberries, sliced strawberries, pecans, walnuts, almonds, honey, maple syrup, fruit preserves (the possibilities are endless)

  • In a small saucepan, combine the quinoa, coconut milk, cinnamon, vanilla, and salt. Bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer, cover and let cook ~15 minutes or until the quinoa is tender (the little “tails” will have popped out)
  • Divide the quinoa into two bowls, drizzle with extra milk, top with toppings as you see fit and eat up!

 

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Quinoa

  1. Thank you for being the genius that you are and for being such a giver. Just this morning, I was in a “don’t feel like ANYTHING I usually eat for breakfast” mood and now the problem has just been solved. I even have fresh blueberries at the ready. YAY!

Leave a Reply

