Crockpot Chicken Chili

So what did I eat with that cornbread? Chili, of course. But not regular chili, chicken chili. And crockpot chili, to boot. How was it? Let’s just say it lived up to the cornbread.

I am a one-pot meal girl. It is very, very, veryveryvery rare that I make a protein and a separate side dish. For me, it’s all stews, or stir-fry, or one-pan roasted shrimp and broccoli.  Sure, sometimes I’ll make rice on the side, but even that’s rare. It’s no surprise then that when the temperature starts to drop, soups, stews, and chilis are regular visitors on my lunch list. Thing is, when it’s a crisp 68 degrees and sunny out, the last thing I want to do is sit at home and watch a simmering pot.

Enter crockpot. Crockpots are amazing. They can make dinner for you, while you go about your life. They’re like a free personal chef. Yes, whenever I leave mine alone in my house, I have spurts of panic about coming home to a boiling-soup-covered cat, but honestly, that’s just because I’m crazy. The problem with crockpots is that the recipes themselves can so often be duds. Lentil soup is bland and overcooked, pasta is mushy, meats are dry. A crockpot recipe has to be thoroughly vetted before you can trust it. It requires a lot of layers of flavor and good timing. This recipe, consider it vetted.

Shocked, people. I was shocked how good this was. Just a bunch of canned items you you may have on hand, a few spices and, boom, delicious lunch for a week. Like really, really delicious. Like, cant-stop-eating-it delicious. The chicken makes this chili a little lighter, which is just perfect for this time of year, when it’s decidedly fall, but not quite mitten weather yet. And, I mean, it cooks itself. What’s not to love?

Crockpot Chicken Chili

Adapted from here. Serves 6.

The original recipe calls for taco seasoning. I couldn’t do it. I just couldn’t. Instead, I substituted fresh spices. It so worked.

1 onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 16 oz can black beans, drained
1 16 oz can kidney beans, drained
10 oz package frozen corn kernels
2 14.5-oz cans diced tomatoes w/chilies and juice
2 t smoked paprika
1 T coriander
1 T cumin
1 T chili powder
1/2 t cayenne
1.5 t salt
1/2 c chopped cilantro
24 0z. (3) boneless skinless chicken breasts

  • Combine beans, onion, garlic, corn, spices, and cilantro in a slow cooker. Place chicken on top and sprinkle with salt
  • Cover and cook on low for 10 hours or on high for 6 hours
  • Half hour before serving, shred chicken, return to slow cooker, and stir in
  • Let cook last 30 min and eat
2 thoughts on “Crockpot Chicken Chili

  1. If I left out the chicken, would this still be worth making? Any substitutions that you would want to suggest, maybe tempeh or tofu? I’ve never done those in the crockpot before, not sure how they would turn out after 10 hours of cooking, lol.

Leave a Reply

